Faith, Hope and Charity


street-sleeper-cropped

Sleep -- the only escape

I was working on Ohio State’s campus with an associate I then considered a friend, a wealthy, self-professed ‘born again’ Christian.  Some months prior, he had sponsored me on a religious retreat, called an “Emmaus Walk.”  But that’s another story.

We broke for lunch and despite other more interesting campus options, he chose Wendy’s in the Student Union.   (Bummer, but he was buying).   We ordered up and found a booth.

As I braced for the inevitable gastrointestinal assault, a young woman approached us.  Gaunt and sullen, her face conveyed lessons well beyond its years. Her deep-set eyes were dull and tired; her voice, near a whisper, sought lunch money in words my colleague ignored.  Fumbling through my pockets, I found her a couple of bucks and after thanking me, she vanished.

Then my co-worker asked, “Why on earth did you do that?  She’s probably just gonna’ go get stoned.”  “Could be,” I said, “but what if she really was hungry?  How do we know, for sure?”   He said, “We don’t–but I just don’t trust panhandlers.”  Pale, grim and obviously poor, no ‘spark’ was evident in this woman.   She seemed an empty vessel.

Now, I’d known this guy for some time.  I knew that he read the Bible.   I asked, “Does God expect us to judge those who ask for help?” No response.  I continued.  “Should we automatically assume that she’s a crack head or a drunk?” I asked.  “And even if she is, do we refuse to help because she could be lying about being hungry?”   “No, I just think giving in to them  can help support their addictions,” he said, adding that if I’d seen what he had as a former deputy sheriff and EMT, I’d understand.  I granted that as a possibility but also suggested that perhaps what he’d seen needn’t have soured him so…because after all, despite what may be apparent, we just don’t know the whole story.  We simply can’t.  The discussion ended there but I’ve thought about it countless times since.

Free will bestows on us a limitless capacity for compassion as well as for many far less productive emotions. We’re offered frequent opportunities to do  something meaningful.  They can come from nowhere and pass by in a flash.  We each react based on what we believe, which in turn, helps define who we are.

Our world increasingly celebrates ownership.  The more we get, the more we need.  Over time, I’ve found that I prefer comfort over accumulating the biggest pile of stuff,  stuff I’ll ultimately leave behind.  I’m slowly working on “divestment” of my extraneous stuff.  If you were limited to a shopping cart, what possessions would you insist be in it?

poverty_homeless_french_man_shopping_trolley

Just Chillin' at the Crib...

Conservatives alternately panned Obama’s “Change” mantra or took it up as it fit their talking points, with the overall effect of blunting it.   But “hope” and “change” are fundamental.   Without hope, life is merely routine.   And if we stubbornly insist that the potential for affecting change be within our grasp, it can be.

Looking at the world as it is and believing that being kind and helping others can either improve it or our chances of an eternal reward (for those who accept such a notion) underlies many faiths.   Whether Christ is your savior, a prophet, a wise man or a fanciful fable, the story of His birth nevertheless bespeaks hope.  We suffer an imperfect world.  Regardless of what we believe, each December reminds us that things can be much better.   And even the humblest of beginnings can help make it so.

This entry was posted in Human Behavior, Offensive, politics, Religion, Soul-searching, Trends that suck, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Faith, Hope and Charity

  1. Mike Schaefer says:

    There is something else that I have been wondering about: I remember that on election morning in 2004, or maybe it was the day before, Bush flew into Columbus and had a private meeting with Blackwell. This struck me at the time as being odd and the news reports I saw about it were vague.

    I am amazed at the hubris Blackwell displays. He can win election to an office in charge of counting the votes and then become deeply involved in political campaigns – and not be fazed in the least by this conflict of interest. If he becomes RNC chair, the Republicans will signal that they have chosen to continue to pursue an agenda that was soundly rejected in the last two elections.

  2. Paul Sonderman says:

    I recall that meeting as well. A last-minute, in and out meeting…no speaking engagement, heavy security. A sitting president meets with state official on election day. His tactics aren’t always covert. Blackwell can be brazen. Somehow he manages to escape scrutiny. That’s why he’s so dangerous. He’s a “take no prisoners” “end justifies the means” theocrat bent on enforcing the GOP agenda at any cost. If selected as RNC chair, he can apply what he got away with here in Ohio to the entire country. Scary indeed. He’s another GOP official who should be be making license plates. I agree that the GOP has a chance to signal its intent with this one and we both know how they roll. I’ll be amazed if he doesn’t get it.

Leave a Reply

