The Incredible Shrinking GOP


impeach-bush-stickerI mentioned that I used to get grief for sporting an “IMPEACH BUSH” sticker on my minivan.  I got  a stack of them for donating to an organization, I don’t recall which. When I went to the State Capitol to join protesters in reaction to  J. Kenneth Blackwell’s role in stealing Ohio’s `04 election, I took them  to hand out.  I also planted several on windshields of vehicles displaying Bush-Cheney stickers.

When Kerry conceded, I removed his and other Dem Party stickers but kept the IMPEACH BUSH one.  Righties continued to snarl in traffic and I was amazed at how many proudly displayed their Bush/Cheney `04 stickers, some for years.  I always wanted to pull up beside rustbuckets displaying a Bush `o4 sticker, give a `thumbs up’ and ask, “So…Dubya, huh? How’s that workin’ out for ya’?,” but  never did.  These days, whenever I see a Bush sticker, I allow a wide berth. They either need medication or are so medicated that they have no business driving.

I’m surprised at how few McCain stickers I see this time around. Most who did display them apparently yanked them on the heels of McCain’s spanking by Obama.

_____________________________________________________

obama-tattoo

What's up w the nose, yo?

Soon everyone was making a big deal out of the historic election, as they should.

Gaudy trinkets are showing up everywhere as opportunists want to cash in on Obama’s victory.

Never in my life do I recall such a bevy of post-election merchandise.

That got me thinking…

If Obama succeeds–and despite the belligerent, spoon-faced, bobble-head Rush Limbaugh, I hope he does–it occurs to me that many people who voted for McCain may not want to admit it down the road.  They’ll prefer to have been on the “right side”of history, even if they must lie about it.

_____________________________________________________

If Obama fails, I don’t think it’ll be an issue but recent Gallup Polls show that the “Blue v. Red State Map” has certainly changed recently. Most notably, just FIVE states identify with Republicans–the “Mormon Belt” states and Alaska.

Nate Silver at Five Thirty Eight notes

“That’s right: just five states, collectively containing about 2 percent of the American population, have statistically significant pluralities of adults identifying themselves as Republicans. These are the “Mormon Belt” states of Utah, Idaho and Wyoming, plus Nebraska, plus Alaska. By contrast, 35 states are plurality Democratic, and 10 states are too close to call.”

gallup-usa-2009

While I think it premature to make much of this, especially given the track record of polls in the `08 election, it’s nevertheless encouraging to democrats and if Obama does well, I should hope this be proven a trend that continues.


This entry was posted in Bad, Belonging, Entertainment, Good, Government, Human Behavior, National, politics, pop culture, Soup du jour and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

