My Mother’s Day Card


Happy Mother's Day!

Happy Mother's Day!

My mom, now in her 80s, is a staunch feminist and helped imprint upon me a sense of why gender oppression is no different than any other form of hatred.  Even so, she has a sense of humor.

I have periodically (jokingly) given her crap for having not breast fed us, which she was physically incapable of doing (cruel humor, indeed but good-natured,) blaming this  early lack of intimacy/suckling  for every subsequent character flaw in her offspring.

I hate the sappy and most of the funny cards available for Mother’s Day, so this year I made her my own, which I share here.  The outside was a shot of a beautiful purple Iris, (one of her favorites).

My Dearest Mother,

We don’t pick our moms

We pick at our food

We pick team members

We pick partners

We even pick our noses

Mom’s help us do all of the above

Accept the nose one

_____________________________________________________

hayek-salma-photo-salma-hayek-6205902

You taught me long ago

Not to pick my nose

And for that, I’m grateful

But  I still do occasionally when no one’s looking

You did your best

I love you mom

And if I could have picked

From all of the moms in the world

I would have still picked you

(Or Selma Hayek, who after all, breast-feeds)

_____________________________________________________

Happy Mother’s Day!

_____________________________________________________

This entry was posted in Entertainment, Frivolous, Human Behavior, Humor, Soup du jour and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Mother’s Day Card

  1. dailyplanetprincess says:

    Was your mom rolling on the floor….I was. You are a silly, silly man. Hope all the mom’s in your life had an amazing day.

  2. Paul Sonderman says:

    Yes, she did. We had a nice time together.

  3. Cute card…not hard to see why you like Selma. ineresting view of mom, feminist? I guess so in some ways…

  4. Paul Sonderman says:

    Yeah, I used to get lectures and “suggestions” (back in my wilder days). I used to say crap just to get her going. The latest ramification was Hillary. She got to the point where we could barely discuss it.

  5. Catherine says:

    Awww Paul. That was very sweet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

