Etheridge: Pot ‘Amazing’ For Cancer


melissa_etheridge

In a case that underscores the cure being as painful or more so than the disease, RawStory reports that Melissa Eldridge’s recent bout with breast cancer and subsequent treatment left her nauseous, in severe, generalized pain she describes as  “like death,” overwhelming lethargy and a complete loss of appetite.

Etheridge told CNN that it was not pharmaceutical drug cocktails that helped abate negative side-effects of cancer surgery and rigorous post operative chemotherapy.  Rather, it was medical marijuana…and it was  “amazing”.

Ms. Etheridge told CNN’s Anderson Cooper that the most bothersome symptom, the pervasive, persistent nausea, disappeared “instantly” with medical marijuana— that it “instantly… relieves the nausea … Relieves the pain.”

She stressed that  “you don’t take medicinal marijuana to get high.”

So, it, you weren’t … You weren’t getting high?” asked Cooper.

No, it’s not a high,” Etheridge said. “It’s a normal.  And I could, all the sudden, get out of bed. I could go see my kids. It was … Amazing.”

When questioned about the (eternal,  asinine, right-wing propaganda scare tactic-emphasis mine) that marijuana may be a “gateway” drug that leads to potentially more addictive substances, Etheridge said she considers the concept “laughable,” (something to which most high school kids who have smoked pot recreationally and I can attest–emphasis again mine).

“The effects [of cancer treatment] on my gastrointestinal system, leaves me with … I have a really low tolerance for acid of any kind,” said Ms Etheridge. “So, acid reflux is a constant problem. I don’t want to take the little pills that they give you, that have all the side-effects, to help with that…(medicinal marijuana) “totally and completely settles all that.””

This video is from CNN’s Anderson Cooper 360, broadcast June 15, 2009.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

This entry was posted in Action, Activism, Bad, Bigots, Business, Entertainment, Government, Helping, Human Behavior, National, politics, Reason, Soup du jour and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Etheridge: Pot ‘Amazing’ For Cancer

  1. Phil says:

    Paul,

    I’m glad that Melissa is going to be around for awhile. I’m a big fan. I’ve seen her in concert a few times…great performer.

    Thanks, Phil

  2. delicate flower says:

    Isn’t it time we started paying attention to what we call acceptable? I’d much rather have my (adult) kids stoned than drunk… anyday. Or smoking the occasional weed rather than smoking a cigarette which can eventually kill them.
    I’m not addicted to any drugs, my kids have all their limbs and digits, and a 3 digit-IQ. The only time I drool is in my sleep… Gateway drug? Bullshit!

  3. Paul Sonderman says:

    Ditto. Several things always amazed me about the “War on Drugs”.

    First is that we all knew couples who had growing kids born after their parents had used recreationally but responsibly and the kids were great, so forget THAT scare tactic. No one I ever knew who had taken drugs responsibly had “bent”kids.

    Next, the propaganda films of the day showed pot making people murder, drive cars off cliffs, etc…CRAZY shit Not that some people who got stoned didn’t do those things, just that pot and other substances intensify personality characteristic present in users, so if one is suicidal or manifests other negative personality traits, it’s best they avoid any intoxicant (including booze), which at least may reduce inhibition and most can intensify negative traits.

    Finally, the “street price” of drug busts was always reported by police and the media to be from 100-500% what I was paying — and I knew of no “Wal-Mart,” that sold pot, so I doubt my dealers were cutting me any breaks. Plus, I knew what they paid to buy in bulk. Had I been able to afford to, I would have bought by the pound.

    It was all lies. You lie to folks, they stop trusting you–even when you finally tell the truth about something.

    And BTW, I love Melissa Manchester’s music. Good on her.

  4. Paul Sonderman says:

    BTW, Laffing on the “drool” comment.

  5. Pam says:

    Beautiful photos in your flickr photo stream.

    Melissa Eldridge rocks! And thank god she found some relief form the side effects of treatment for cancer. Lots of people have said the same thing.

    Found your site on alphainventions.com

  6. Great post Paul, I like your writing style a lot. I agree with everything said before me, the image of marijuana is “tainted” due to propaganda used a long time ago for reasons that had nothing to do with our health or well being. It’s time to legalize it. Eff a gateway.

  7. Paul Sonderman says:

    Legalize it and let me die happy. Not to mention all the good it can do. Thanks for commenting, Skep.

Leave a Reply

