George Duke with Billy Cobham – “Rush Hour”


The joy that is jazz improv captured here among stellar musicians. George Duke on keys, Larry Kimpel on bass and Billy Cobham‘s amazing drum work.  Much can be written about this but I’d rather simply listen. What a gift to command so fluently this expressive alternate form of communication!

Vodpod videos no longer available.

This entry was posted in Entertainment, Festival, Jazz, Music, musicians, Performance, Soup du jour and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to George Duke with Billy Cobham – “Rush Hour”

  1. Jerry Dobb says:

    Boy, do I love this! I cherish my four Billy Cobham albums, but it’s great to SEE him play! Is it my imagination, or do some of his expressions remind me of those of the writer of this esteemed blog?

  2. Paul Sonderman says:

    Any resemblance to Billy Cobham is greatly appreciated but deeply denied. If I could play one-tenth as well, I’d have just one expression: ecstasy. We both wear glasses and can hold drumsticks. Past that, similarities are in the eyes of the beholder. I can watch this clip over and over. What a gift to be able to play like this. Thanks, Jerry.

Leave a Reply

